Stephanie Lin | April Athlete of the Month

4.7.14 WOD
April 7, 2014
4.8.14 WOD
April 8, 2014

Stephanie Lin | April Athlete of the Month

Congrats Stephanie on being our next Athlete of the Month


First, tell me a little bit about yourself!

I grew up in West Lafayette, where my parents have a small international food store. After college at DePauw University, I moved to Boston. I worked at the Tanglewood Music Center and the Regattabar, a jazz club in Cambridge. I then moved back to Indiana for law school in Bloomington, where I met my husband Greg. We have two dogs, Aiko (a terrier mix) and Sage (a German shorthaired pointer/Brittany mix).

How did you get involved in CrossFit?

Greg had been going to CrossFit 317 for over half a year and thought I’d love it.

What was your first WOD/experience?

The February Friends and Family Day. My first regular WOD after the kickoff classes involved rowing, pull-ups, air squats, push-ups, Abmat sit-ups, and double unders.

When did you start coming to CrossFit 317?

The Friends and Family Day was on February 1, and I started the kickoff two days later.

Is this the first CrossFit you’ve worked out at / how long have you been CrossFitting for?

Yes. I’ve been doing CrossFit for two months.

When did you realize that CrossFit was right for you?

From the start. I love the community at CrossFit 317. Everyone is welcoming and encouraging. And I’ve found that working out in a group setting really motivates me.

What are you short-term and long-term CrossFit goals?

Short-term: kipping pull-ups, to Rx the workouts, to have good form on lifts
Long-term: good form on lifts
Long-long-term: muscle ups!

What is your biggest accomplishment?

I used to be a decent pianist. I’ve played Liszt’s Totentanz with the Lafayette and DePauw Symphonies and Ravel’s Piano Concerto in G Major with the DePauw Symphony. Unfortunately, I haven’t made time to keep practicing and have pretty much lost all my chops.

What is your favorite / least favorite WOD/movement?

Favorite WOD: Not sure. I like the group WODs on Saturdays.
Least Favorite WOD: Don’t have one… yet. But 14.5 was pretty rough…
Favorite Movement: I like box jumps and double unders. Also, I just did my first rope climb and hope to get better at them!
Least Favorite Movement: Running.

What do you do for a profession outside of CrossFit?

I’m a staff attorney with the Indiana Court of Appeals.

What are your hobbies outside of CrossFit?

Hanging out with our dogs Aiko and Sage, hiking, campfires, cooking (and eating!), and trying new things.

Do you eat Paleo or Zone?

No. But I’ve been strictly gluten free for four years this May.

What is your favorite paleo/non-paleo meal?

Favorite paleo: seared scallops with grilled or roasted veggies
Favorite non-paleo: probably sushi or gf pizza

Do you use any supplements?


Give me 3 fun facts about you!

1. I love fantasy/sci-fi/superhero movies.
2. I was a bartender and a server at a jazz club for a few years and absolutely loved listening to live music almost every night of the week.
3. I’ve gone skydiving twice: once in college (I threw up) and once as a group gift to our wedding party (kept the food down!).

Ready to start your own fitness journey, a beginner’s guide to nutrition, or want to stay fit at work?

Our Free ebooks are packed full of fitness advice and nutrition tips.

Download these now

You have Successfully Subscribed!