Athlete of the Month

Congrats Jessica on being our May Athlete!

First, tell me a little bit about yourself!

My name is Jessica Heckman and I am 29 years old. I grew up in Spencer, Indiana. I participated in various sports growing up. I attended Indiana University and graduated with a degree in Early Childhood Education. My husband, Corby, and I have been married since 2006. We have lived in Brownsburg since 2008.

How did you get involved in CrossFit?

A co-worker and friend of my husband introduced us to Crossfit in 2011. I completed my first WOD in his garage and loved it.

What was your first WOD/experience?

My first WOD was 3 rounds of 200m run, 9-12-15 of ring rows, pushups, and air squats

When did you start coming to CrossFit 317?

I started coming to Crossfit 317 in November of 2012.

Is this the first CrossFit you’ve worked out at / how long have you been CrossFitting for?

This is the first Crossfit affiliate I have worked out at. I did train with a level 1 certified trainer for a year before attending Crossfit 317. I have been doing Crossfit for 2 years.

When did you realize that CrossFit was right for you?

I first realized Crossfit was for me after I completed the first WOD. The WOD’s are rapid, intense, and offer a competitive outlet. Then after attending Crossfit 317 I realized that I also enjoy working out in a group and the community feeling associated with the box.

What are you short-term and long-term CrossFit goals?

Short-term: Continue to improve the movements that make up my goat list, which currently includes: kipping pull-ups, toes-to-bar, handstand pushups, rowing, and ring dips.
Long-term: Improve strength and be able to do all workouts as prescribed.

What is your biggest accomplishment?

My biggest Crossfit accomplishment was this past weekend when I competed in my first competition.

What is your favorite / least favorite WOD/movement?

Favorite WOD: Cindy
Least Favorite WOD: Fran
Favorite Movement: Clean and Jerk
Least Favorite Movement: Thrusters

What do you do for a profession outside of CrossFit?

I am a first grade teacher at Eagle Elementary. This is my fifth year at Eagle. Before moving to Brownsburg I was a first/second grade looping teacher in Ellettsville, Indiana for two years.

What are your hobbies outside of CrossFit?

My husband and I are IU basketball season ticket holders. We love to go to games and cheer on the Hoosiers. Also, I love being outside on a warm day reading a good book. Finally, I enjoy spending time with my family and friends.

Do you eat Paleo or Zone?

I completed my first 30 day paleo challenge this year. Since the challenge I have tried to eat paleo 80% of the time.

What is your favorite paleo/non-paleo meal?

My favorite paleo meal is beef roast.
My favorite non-paleo meal is pizza and breadsticks!

Give me 3 fun facts about you!

I am a reality TV junkie, especially Duck Dynasty!
I have an extensive shoe collection.
I have a strong dislike for PURDUE!

May 2, 2013

Jessica Heckman – May Athlete of the Month

Congrats Jessica on being our May Athlete! First, tell me […]
April 1, 2013

Jeff Porter – Athlete of the Month

Congrats Jeff on being our April Athlete of the Month […]
March 6, 2013

Julie Gierish Martin – Athlete of the Month

Congrats Julie Gierish Martin for being our March Athlete of […]
January 28, 2013

Jason Gunn – Athlete of the Month

My name is Jason Gunn and i’m 29 years old. […]

Ready to start your own fitness journey, a beginner’s guide to nutrition, or want to stay fit at work?

Our Free ebooks are packed full of fitness advice and nutrition tips.

Download these now

You have Successfully Subscribed!